Scents of Summer

Inspired by the WordPress Daily Post blog 

I love the smell of fresh herbs, especially mint and basil. I have a big pot of mint on my deck and sometimes I just go out and snap off a leaf and sniff it; I also add it to water for a little flavor enhancer. Basil is lovely too but doesn’t seem to be as hardy as mint. My daughter asks for mints when she’s taking a test because they help stimulate her brain.

Another favorite scent is coconut. I love coconut anything, and then there’s the scent of suntan lotion/sunscreen. Not all of them have that scent, but that to me is what most powerfully conjures up memories of summer–long days at a beach, getting wonderfully drowsy in the sun, few cares in the world.

 

 

 

One thought on “Scents of Summer

Leave a Reply

